Minimum Standards for Qualification to Drive

  1. Must be at least 21 years of age

  2. Must have a valid Class A CDL with an X endorsement (T also in Utah, N if only hauling water) in the state of residence. Will allow a grace period of 30 days if a  recent relocation has occured.

  3. Must be able to pass a DOT physical and drug screen administered at an Iowa Tanklines authorized clinic.

  4. Two years tractor-trailer experience is required to transport hazardous materias, one year of tractor trailer experience is required to transport non-hazardous materials.  One year tractor-trailer experience in the last 5 years.

  5. No more than two moving violation convictions in the previous three years.

  6. Ten years employment history.  Four years verifiable.  To include military service, school, self-employment and peiods of unemployment.

  7. Any accident during the past five years may disqualify the applicant.

  8. The following violations will disqualify the applicant:
    a. D.U.I. last 5 years
    b. Reckless Driving or equivalent last 5 years
    c. Revocations for any reason last 5 years
    d. Habitual violator last 5 years
    e. Suspensions related to driving behavior last 3 years
    f.  Speeding over 15 mph last 3 years
    g. Any questionable violation.
    h.  An excessive number of non-moving violations.
    I.  "Serious Violations" as defined by the FMCSR (49 CFR Part 383)

  9. Felony convictions within the previous seven years will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis.

  10. PSP Report
    a.  Driver OOS violations may disqualify the applicant
    b.  Numerous and repetitive violations will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis and may disqualify the applicant.